Tags

,

I’m not a chef, I’m simply a mother who needs to feed her little creatures, every day.

I usually cook pizza once a week, wherever we move, wherever we live, pizza comes with us. It’s kind of a ritual, this is one of the many ways to bring our culture with us. Little Miss Fussy and Little Miss Daydream are always very happy about pizza night because they can have pizza ALSO the day after in their lunch boxes. It’s a great lunch box filler and not that difficult to make.

So, this is my recipe, the one my mummy gave me when I started living abroad and feeling a bit homesick.

How to make the dough:

400 gr. flour

2 tsp salt

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp instant dried yeast

300 ml water

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Mix everything together slowly adding an extra 100 gr flour. When your dough texture is similar to your ear lobe (I know, it can sound weird but that’s how I learnt how to have the right texture), that’s when you have to stop working it and leave it to rest for at least 5 hours, covering it with a kitchen cloth.

IMG_8154

In the meantime prepare a simple tomato sauce.

When you are ready, use a rolling spin to work your pizza dough and make it take the shape of your oven tray.  Place it on your oven tray and cover it with tomato sauce.

IMG_8156d

Sprinkle some oregano and grate some mozzarella cheese on top.

IMG_8157

Put it in the oven at 180 °C for 20 minutes circa.

Now that your pizza is ready, enjoy 🙂

IMG_8158

If there are any left overs, put them in your kids’ lunch boxes, they will be super happy to have it for lunch and they will show it off to their classmates.

 

 

 

