Tags

,

Today my little Miss Fussy came home from school singing a song I never heard.

She asked me to write down the words for her, as she has learned the lyrics by heart and wanted to read them on and on in order to rehearsal for her School Concert. So I did what she asked me and while she was telling me the words I was surprised, amazed and touched by this beautiful song.

It’s an AntiWarSong and it’s called

It could be a wonderful world by Pete Seeger

If we could consider each other
A neighbor, a friend, or a brother
It could be a wonderful, wonderful world,
It could be a wonderful world, oh-ho
It could be a wonderful world

If each little kid could have fresh milk each day
If each working man had enough time to play
If each homeless soul had a good place to stay
It could be a wonderful world, oh-ho,
It could be a wonderful world

If we could consider each other
A neighbor, a friend, or a brother
It could be a wonderful, wonderful world,
It could be a wonderful world, oh-ho
It could be a wonderful world

If there were no poor and the rich were content
If strangers were welcome wherever they went
If each of us knew what true brotherhood meant
It could be a wonderful world, oh-ho,
It could be a wonderful world

If we could consider each other
A neighbor, a friend, or a brother
It could be a wonderful, wonderful world,
It could be a wonderful world, oh-ho
It could be a wonderful world

 It was written in the ’60 but the world (sadly) hasn’t changed much.

I’m glad the teachers at my daughter’s school have chosen this song among many others to teach the kids some very good values. I’m not sure how fully my daughter understands this song but still, it’s a great teaching tool and hopefully our kids are learning from the past and present in order to have a better, peaceful future.

 

