Tags

,

A fortunate life” by A.B. Facey is the first autobiography I have ever read and to tell the truth it happened accidentally, while I was browsing in my local library, this book happened to appear under my eyes.

I’ve been attracted by the title and decided to give it a go.

I loved it.

It’s written in a very simple way, yet intriguing. I couldn’t stop reading it.

This man was born in Australia just before the 20th century and his life has been so busy  that you can learn the Australian 20th century history by reading all the facts that happened to him, from his troubled childhood, to starting to work at a very young age, to taking part in WWI in Gallipoli.

A few days after the armistice we received some trench comfort parcels from home […] I was the only person in my section to get socks […] I found a note rolled up in my socks and it read: “We wish the soldier that gets this parcel the best of luck and health and a safe return home to his loved ones when the war is over.

I truly enjoyed reading every aspect of his life and it’s been easy for me imagining what Australia was like before I was born.

I also found something about rabbits which reminded me of the bollards seen in Geelong.

Now to top all that was the rabbit-plague – they came in thousands. They not only destroyed our crops, they also took acid grass and stock food out of our paddocks to such an extent that the sheep and cattle were unable to get sufficient acid food to make the stomach work to digest the food.

In the last chapter I read something that made me feel closer to this man even if our lives have nothing in common:

I have never ever felt like I was tied down to any one place or any job. I have always felt that I could sell out or walk off at any time. It didn’t matter. I never ever worried about trying something different or having a go at something. I have always believed that if you want to do something you usually can.

Such a positive way of living a not always easy life.

