Tags

, , ,

So, what’s your children’s school like? To fundraise or not fundraise, this is the dilemma.

fundraiser-2

When we moved to Australia I never thought schools here would be any different from Italian schools, to me schools are places where kids go to learn, socialize, leave mummy in peace, make new friends.  That’s more or less what I expect from a school.

Nobody told me I had to be an active parent, be part of the school community. School community? What a strange concept for an Italian! Never heard of that! In Italy we don’t talk about community, let alone thinking of a community. The Italian mentality is that the government has to think about funding the schools and look after them, it’s not the parents’ role.  Here is where things get different in an Australian school.

Parents are active part of the school, take care about their children, their learning activities, plus they look after the school building: library, hall, swimming pool, art room, kitchen…volunteers are always welcome.

In two days there is going to be one of the biggest event of our school: the carnival. It’s a massive fundraising event with lots of fun for the children and quite a lot of work for us parents. I’m going to help out at one of the many stalls and my girls have entered for the cake decorating competition (so tomorrow I’ll have to bake a cake with them).

It feels great to be part of the school community, it make me feel I’m an active part of my children’s lives and fundraising it’s absolutely great. People should do the same in Italy too.

I’m just wondering: what if the community where the school is located is not that good? doesn’t have time to help out? doesn’t have money to buy raffle tickets or carnival rides? what if you live in a deprived area? does that mean the children will not have the same opportunities at school? It makes me think…maybe fundraising is not that good after all.

