Tags

, , ,

Walhalla – It sounds a bit odd for an Australian place, in fact Walhalla was named by its Scandinavian mine manager after “Walhalla” in Norse mythology – The Valley of the Gods.

Walhalla is a beautiful place, in the middle of the mountains, about 180 km from Melbourne, once well known for its gold mine. Here you can find some facts.

It was my first time in a real gold mine, I really enjoyed it, so did my kids, very curious of knowing the whyS, whereS, ifS… the mine was cold and dark and I can’t even imagine how hard it must have been for workers to spend most of their days there.

IMG_5337-001

At the beginning of the 20th century a railway was built to improve the transport of material for and from the gold mine as well as people.

My little Mister Copycat couldn’t wait to have a ride on the fabulous steam train and I must admit, I loved it too. The scenery is simply gorgeous!

IMG_5279-001

On our way to Walhalla, we visited one of the old railway bridges, really stunning:

Noojee Trestle Bridge Rail Trail

and we passed by a beautiful blue lake:

Blue rock lake

I would recommend any family to go and visit this historical place, it’s such a golden experience!

