Tags

,

If you’re an expat,one of the best things you can do to get the feeling of the Country you’re living in,it’s to try and learn the language. Not only it will help you to better communicate with the people around you but it will also give you a better understanding of the culture, history and place where you’re living.

On Wednesday I had my very first Polish lesson.

In a school,

group of 4 adults,

a teacher speaking mostly Polish,

and…

I missed the first 3 lessons of the beginners course.

Yes, I started at lesson number 4 because I didn’t want to wait until the next course started at the end of September.

How did it go?

Well, pretty well, until they started revising number 0-10 and doing some maths with numbers up to 29. I must have had the most confused faced you have ever seen.

I felt all the numbers were tongue twisters and the most confusing ones were

9 = dziewięć

10= dziesięć

polish numbers

Now, after a few days I can say I can tell numbers from 0 to 29, a bit slowly and with a few mistakes but I am pretty happy with it.

Tomorrow I have my second lesson and I feel a bit nervous about it but I also can’t wait to learn a bit more.

 

