Tags

, ,

No, not again!!!

It’s not the first time it happens to me and maybe it also happened to many other expats like me.

My kids have been asking for muffins for a few days now and mummy has to bake them, right? So yesterday I was ready to bake them but when I was checking the ingredients I was missing one: butter.

This morning we had to go to some boring offices to get official documents and the kids behaved so well that on the way home we stopped at the local shop next to our home to buy some butter.

As the shop is tiny and there isn’t much of a selection, I found in the fridge two packages, one with the label masło, 100 grams

and one with the label smalec,  200 grams

I wasn’t too sure which one was what, so I asked a young guy in English if he could help me but he didn’t speak English or maybe he got scared of me, who knows. Anyway as I couldn’t choose I ended up buying both the packages.

When I arrived at home I realized that smalec is the Polish for lard. I couldn’t possibly bake muffins with lard, so I simply used 100 grams of butter and made 12 muffins instead of 24, not too bad.

The first time I arrived home with lard instead of butter was in the UK, it was probably the first time I went to the supermarket and I didn’t even read the label because I would have never thought lard was sold in a package similar to the butter one.

From this experience I have learnt:

  1. masło = butter, smalec = lard
  2. I can bake 12 muffins with 100 gr. butter
  3. I should use my phone to translate words to help with my shopping

I’m really curious to know what Polish people use lard for, as they sell bigger quantities of lard than butter. I might learn some new recipes! 🙂

 

 

